Kingian Non-Violence

From left side: Dianne Jones, Victoria Christgau, Pastor James Lane, the Honorable, Dr. Bernard LaFayette, Jr., and Warren Hardy. Dr. LaFayette, joins us in CT several times a year.

The Connecticut Center for Nonviolence

The Connecticut School of Social Work is the new location for The Connecticut Center for Nonviolence (CTCN), which is housed in the office adjacent to the Institute for Violence Prevention and Reduction (IVPR). CTCN provides leadership in nonviolence education, bringing people from diverse communities together in dialogue and creative expression to explore the root causes of violence and learn constructive methods of developing and applying alternative solutions. Founder and Executive Director, Victoria Christgau and a six-member board of directors lead the organization. Board Vice President, Dianne Jones was a key collaborator with IVPR in its early focus on gang violence in Hartford, CT. Read more… click on button below.
Six Principles of Nonviolence
1. Nonviolence is a way of life for courageous people
2. The Beloved Community is the framework for the future
3. Attack the forces of evil, not the persons doing the evil
4. Accept suffering, without retailiation, for the sake of the cause to achieve the goal
5. Avoid internal violence of the spirit as well as external physical
6. The Universe is on the side of justice